sort by:

Reviews

Strong Enough? : Thoughts from Thirty Years of Barbell Training
Price: $14.95
  • Average Rating 4.86/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
(4.86 out of 5 with 22 votes)
Product Description:

Strong Enough? Thoughts on Thirty Years of Barbell Training

There are lots of things about weight training in general and barbell exercise in particular that can only be learned by spending way too many hours in the gym. And honestly, unless you are a gym owner, this is a really weird way to spend 75 hours a week. Mark Rippetoe has been in the fitness industry since 1978 and has owned a black-iron gym since 1984. He knows things about lifting weights and training for performance that most other coaches and professionals have never had a chance to learn. This book of essays offers a glimpse into the depths of experience made possible through many years under the bar, and many more years spent helping others under the bar.

 

 

  
Product Details:
Paperback: 204 pages
Publisher: The Aasgaard Company (November 28, 2007)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0976805448
Product Dimensions: 9" x 6"x 0.7"

 

Looking for the Kindle edition? Amazon.com, uk, de, fr, es, it

And see our electronic editions page for version information and feedback.

 


More Detail

The missing key...
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Ousel37 (Germany) - September 14th 2010
I love this book, because it answers my questions and really explains things to me that had been bothering me. I know a reasonable amount about training with weights and have some mileage behind me too and, yet, there are always questions; things that just bug you from time-to-time that startlingly not even the great internet god can answer.

Mark Rippetoe writes lucidly, at times technically, but always accessibly and even sometimes with humour. A man who has dedicated his life to [...read more]
Informative and attention-holding
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
O May (Los Angeles CA) - September 14th 2010
I just started getting into barbell training when I read this book on the advice of my trainer. The book is very dense with critically needed information on correct lifting techniques. Rippetoe is refreshingly humorous and entertaining in his writing style, while staying on-subject.

I'm a slow reader, and I finished this book very quickly because it was such a fun read.
One of the Greatest Strength Book Out There,
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
J Wright () - September 14th 2010
Strong Enough is truly one of the greatest strength book I have ever read and I have a huge collection (100's). This book covers all sorts of topics and unravels them with a "this is it, if you don't like go read something else" attitude. Strong Enough is filled with Rippetoe's personal thoughts on barbell training and competitive lifting. His no nonsense approach is realistic and very entertaining to read.

You will get a wealth of information from this book all of which [...read more]
Inspiring and entertaining read
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yuya... () - September 14th 2010
The book is a tribute to barbell training. It deals with technical and practical aspects of barbell training plus general principles for strength training. Humorous, well-written, easy to read and plenty of useful advice.

For a more in-depth and very thorough description of the technical aspects of basic barbell training, however, look at Starting Strength/Starting Strength 2nd Edition by the same author.
Great Book
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
S Long () - September 14th 2010
Every High School athlete and coach who are involved in lifting need to read this book, as well as us older guys.
"Strong Enough"
  • Rating 4/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Skipper () - September 14th 2010
Excellent book for a serious student on the
sport of weightlifting.

Down to earth and very readable.
An Easy Lift for Lifters
  • Rating 4/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
B Revell (TX) - September 14th 2010
If you are reading this review, you are likely a serious lifter. Thus, try this book and you will enjoy "Rip's" pontifications on the major lifts, specific form, some very humorous observations on health habits, etc.

This being my first book of his, I am not familiar with the others. Regardless, this is an enjoyable read and although some of the descriptions on form are somewhat dry, that's acceptable. He freely admits and warns us gentle readers. Bully for the author! < [...read more]
Easy read
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Iron Steve () - September 14th 2010
Great leisurely reading, containing all the wit and charisma you'd expect from Coach Rip, written in a conversational style.This is NOT a text-book on strength training.

Get Starting Strength or Practical Programming for that.
What an enjoyable read!
  • Rating 5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Laree... (Canada) - September 14th 2010
We don't really expect to settle in to enjoy the writing in a weight training book, yet that's exactly what will happen when you pick up this collection of Rippetoe essays.

There are a lot of excellent thinkers in today's training world, but truthfully, there aren't more than a half-dozen who can really write. Mark's one of those few.
Good Enough
  • Rating 4/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
R Wannamaker () - September 14th 2010
An interesting read. Great tips on lifting as well as some prudent observations on people who lift. Also a superb motivator.

It's one you'll probably read twice. I'll buy anything Mr Rippetoe writes at this point.